Back to top

Announcing our 2019 Iolanthe Award Winners

5 May 2019

Dr Jacque Gerrard, chair of the trustees, has announced the midwives and students who have gained awards from the Iolanthe Midwifery Trust.

“We are overjoyed to announce the Iolanthe Midwifery Trust award winners for 2019. Like other years we have been impressed at the sheer volume of entrants and quality of projects from midwives and student midwives. This year saw us make the first Dora Opoku BAME Awards for a student and a midwife and these have gone to worthy projects. We have also made an award in the name of midwife Mary Cronk, who died at the end of 2018.

Unusually we have awarded two Jean Davies Awards, due to the very high standard of applications for this award. The judges felt passionately that both projects equally deserved funding.

Congratulations to all our award winners and we look forward to seeing the results of your projects. Thank you to everyone who applied and if you were unsuccessful in 2019 please do apply next year.”

The winner of the first Dora Opoku Award for BAME students is:

Trisania Bailey, studying at the University of Southampton, who is undertaking a midwifery elective placement in Ghana.

The 7 Student Winners are:

Alexandra Cass, a student midwife from Birmingham City University, who will be going on a midwifery elective placement in rural Wales.

Amanda Green, from the University of Plymouth, for a midwifery elective placement in Sri Lanka.

Felicity Cremin, a student midwife from City, University of London, will be undertaking a social enterprise Elective Aid placement in Bangladesh.

Kate Greenstock, Kingston University London, will use her award to fund a midwifery elective placement working with a charity in Northern Haiti.

Natalie Dibsdale, studying at Cardiff University, is travelling to take up a midwifery elective placement in Namibia with the Wales for Africa programme.

Rebecca El Boukili, the University of Chester, will use her funding to create multilingual leaflets on when to seek help in pregnancy.

Sarah Walker, a student midwife from the University of Southampton, will be doing a midwifery elective placement in Uganda arranged through a UK charity.

The winner of the first Dora Opoku Award for BAME midwives is:

Sarah Esegbona-Adeigbe, studying at the University of Hertfordshire, who is undertaking a qualitative study of the perceptions of migrant Nigerian mothers and midwives of cultural competency in antenatal care.

The 7 Midwife Award Winners are: 

Emma Mills, working at the Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, Wales, who will put the award towards the Breech Project: improving local services and choices for women in relation to breech birth.

Jacqueline Dent, a midwife from the University of Hertfordshire, is using her funding to investigate the impact of working 12-hour shifts on the safety and quality of care in midwifery hospital settings.

Joyce Adu-Amankwah, a midwife based at St. George's Hospital, London, is using her award to study a post-qualification module on advancing client-centred care for haemoglobinopathies.

Laura Bridle, a midwife from Guys and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, London, is undertaking a qualitative study on the barriers and facilitators for midwives accessing language services for pregnant women who speak little or no English.

Lisa-Jayne Rose, who works at Bronglais Hospital, Aberystwyth, will be attending with colleagues an "Appropriate Skills and Appropriate Places" workshop to improve home birth services.

Claire Carter, based at Princess Alexandra Hospital NHS Trust, Harlow will use her award for the iSAFE study: Infant sleep and feeding experiences of mothers in Essex.

Sharyn Lock, a midwife from Yorkshire Storks Midwifery Collective/Airedale NHS Foundation Trust, is undertaking vaginal breech birth training including observation of births with her award.  Sharyn also won the Mary Cronk Award, a personal award in memory of Mary who died in December 2018.

The Elizabeth Duff Award for supporting the midwife-mother relationship is awarded to:

Ren Forteath, a midwife from NHS Dumfries and Galloway will use her award to stage a musical "Labours of Love" on the maternity experiences of service users and their partners.

The Iolanthe/RCM Jean Davies Award for addressing health inequalities is to go to:

Catherine Collins, from Northumbria University, who will be using her funding to undertake a PhD exploring the maternity experiences of women who have been trafficked into the UK,

And to:

Elsie Gayle, based at the University of Wolverhampton/Mimosa Midwives Practice, will put on a conference aimed at ameliorating the root causes of black maternal and perinatal mortality, learning from international expertise in reproductive justice.