Award winners 2017

Sheena Byrom OBE, chair of the trustees, announced the midwives and students who have gained awards from the Iolanthe Midwifery Trust.

"We are delighted to announce 21 worthy award winners this year - almost double the 12 winners we had last year.  The quality of the projects was extremely high and it is always difficult to choose which ones will be funded. Congratulations to all our winners!  We are also excited to announce our first Elizabeth Duff Award winner.  This award supports midwives to further develop practice or knowledge that focuses on the implementation of relationship based midwifery care and is named after a longstanding Iolanthe Trustee and subsequently our Executive Director for 10 years."

The 11 Student Winners were:

Claire Welford, studying at the University of Bradford, will be volunteering in a Refugee Women's Centre in Dunkirk

Eleanor Cramer, a student midwife from Anglia Ruskin University will train in Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction with a view to teaching Mindfulness Based Childbirth and Parenting as a specialist mental health midwife

Kate Mackay, from the University of the West of Scotland (UWS) will be attending the Midwifery Today conference in Finland, to enhance her knowledge of normal birth and enable her to care for women in a midwife-led unit in a remote area of Scotland.

Linda Owusu, a student midwife from London South Bank University will be travelling to Ghana for her elective placement, focussing on the support for vulnerable women.

Elena Uderzo, City University of London will use her award to fund places for ten student midwives and ten midwives to attend the Fertility Festival 2018, bringing an awareness about fertility and infertility through theatre, art, literature and poetry

Lydia Hook, studying at University of Southampton, is going to a birthing centre in New Zealand, to see how they facilitate such high rates of normal birth and the role of continuity of care.

Sarah Scarlett, University of the West of Scotland, is attending a British Sign Language course to improve communication with deaf women receiving maternity care.

Ruby Scott, a student midwife from Edinburgh Napier University, will be doing an elective placement at an independent midwifery practice in California.

Savannah Dallas,  studying at the University of Salford, will travel to a Women's Centre in Florida, looking after vulnerable women and those without health insurance.

Victoria Young, a student midwife from London South Bank University, is planning to volunteer at a refugee camp in Greece to support pregnant women, mothers and babies.

Sophie Hall, a student midwife from University of York, will be spending two weeks in Mexico, on an elective placement with a midwife specialising in birth outside the acute hospital setting.

The 8 Midwife Award Winners were: 

Polly Sands, a midwife working at Guys and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, wlll be attending a counselling course to help set up a Listening Clinic for pregnant women.

Rebecca Westbury, a midwife from Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, is planning to attend a birth yoga instructors' course with a view to offering free yoga in pregnancy courses for women.

Debbie Garrod, a midwife based at University Hospital of South Manchester, will use her funding for her PhD research: How do midwives and fathers communicate during labour and birth?  An ethnographic study in NW England.  Debbie gains the Ann Stewart award, given at the discretion of the trustees.

Dominique Mylod, a midwife from Bournemouth University, is researching whether having a birth ball at home in early labour improves birth outcomes (The Ball Assisted Latent Labour ]BALL] trial).  Her funding will help with the cost of birth balls.

Helen Watson, who works at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, will be giving an oral presentation at the International Confederation of Midwives Triennial Congress in Toronto on discrimination of Romani women in maternity care in Europe. Her award will help fund her travel and accommodation costs.

Judith Elwood, based at Ulster University, will use her award to fund her attendance at the Royal College of Nursing International Nursing Research conference where she is giving an oral presentation on research into genetic markers to identify women at risk of postnatal depression.

Kerry Phillips, a midwife from Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, is organising a conference on Birth Trauma.  Her award will help fund speakers and provide free places for student midwives.

Laura Abbott, a midwife from University of Hertfordshire, will use her award to enable her to finish writing up her PhD of an ethnographic study looking at the experience of pregnant women in prison.

The joint Iolanthe/RCM Jean Davies award for addressing health inequalities is to go to:

Susan Crowther and Annie Lau from the Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen.  They are  carrying out research to identify the needs of Polish migrant women accessing maternity services in Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire.

The first Elizabeth Duff award for relationship-based midwifery cares goes to:

Rachel Buisson-Lex, an independent midwife from Dorset, who is undertaking a pilot study research the viability of  arrangements for  independent midwives and NHS trusts to work together to care for women.

The awards will be presented at the annual Awards Ceremony to be held on 28 September 2017 in London.